Taking a Break

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been kind of MIA around here. The move really took it out of me and I’m still re-adjusting to life (and my longer commute, BOO!) With that, there has been little to no running.

Yesterday I attempted a run.

It ended abruptly at about .30 miles when I tripped and fell on the trail, twisting my ankle. It’s still a bit sore today …and I’ve sworn off trails for the time being 🙂

I’m downsizing my running goals. While the half marathon was fun to train for, it was mentally draining planning and running all the time. I want to be running for FUN. Because I WANT to. Not because my excel spreadsheet is telling me too. That being said, I DID sign up for The Great Race, but I’m currently trying to sell my bib. I know I won’t be able to run it …I’m way out of shape, and my heart is not into it right now.

I know I’ll get back into running soon, but for now I’m taking a much needed break so that I don’t burn out. I think I’ll experiment with cross-training, some work out DVD’s and quick, short runs.

I did happen across a new lust of mine.

UGH. Why did I walk into Lululemon? This jacket is everything I wish my Nike one was. It’s 100 bucks …and I’ve already got a fund set up for it (half way there baby!) I feel like I can’t justify it having just moved to a new apartment and hello, bills?!?! But it’s so freaking cute, it makes me look super slim and I KNOW I’d get so much use out of it. Plus, the thumbholes. I love to wear my hoodies and long sleeves over my hands at work …don’t ask me why I just do. We shall see! I LOVE the color but I feel like I should get something more practical?
Anyways, that’s it from me. You might hear from me soon, maybe later. Depends when the running high comes back (hopefully soon!)

 

Posted on September 20, 2012, in Apartment, Goals. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

